The band formed in 1984, and after an early demo settled on a line-up of singer Steve Hawkins, guitarist John Antcliffe, bass guitarist Nick Wastell and drummer Chris Green. Mark Godfrey (Drums) replaced Chris Green after the release of the “You Said” EP (Bullet Becords, BOLT 10) in 1984 and prior to the recording of the band’s debut album, You Can’t Have It All…or Can You?, which was released in 1985. After the second album Stick It Out (1987), Antcliffe was replaced by Tim Read, and the band signed to I.R.S. Records, their first release for the label a cover version of Squeeze‘s “Take Me I’m Yours“. IRS released the third album Angst in April 1988, which included the single “Shooting Me Down” which was written by Jim Lea and Noddy Holder of Slade and produced by Lea; The single received heavy airplay from BBC Radio 1 but suffered from a dispute between I.R.S. and distributors MCA Records. They toured as support act with Alice Cooper on his Raise Your Fist And Yell tour in 1988. With guitarist Andrew Barrott added to the line-up.They moved on to the Music for Nations label for fourth album Slaphead (1990).

The band split up in 1991, although they played together as Van Halen tribute band Von Halen a few times.

The band reformed in 2009 with members of the early line-up Hawkins, Antcliffe and Wastell joined by Greg Ellis, and announced a new album, Gunpowder Diplomacy.

The band’s first two albums were reissued by Cherry Red sublabel Lemon Recordings in 2010.

The band returned to the studio with Toby Jepson from Little Angels in the producers chair, the album “Gunpowder Diplomacy” will be released later in 2013

Johnny Antcliffe left the band in December 2014 to be replaced in 2015 by John Foottit, the band return to the studio in August 2015 to record their sixth studio album with Toby Jepson again in the production role.